A Poem in Favor of Humanity

A beautiful poem, and so very right.
We need to fight back against the extreme computerization, the depersonalization, the reduction of our children to data points.
All so states and school districts can save money, corporations can make money on the backs of our children, and oh, don’t forget the goal of producing unthinking, unquestioning, compliant little robots who will eventually work at whatever job they are told to do, for whatever bones and scraps are thrown their way, and vote the way the oligarchs want them to.

Poetic Justice

2017 – it’s 2017
Who would think that in 2017
I would feel the need to have you read
a poem in favor of humanity?

I look out at my students
what do I see?

I see wires from teenage ears
red, yellow, black pods in and around their ears
talking to them
mesmerizing them
hypnotizing them

I see the omnipresent ChromeBook
on their desks – their laptop computer instructors
And on tables as stand alones
I see the Boxes standing tall –
They are Black
They are Powerful
They are Teaching my kids

And I am complicit….

Whoooaaa
What did I just say?
The black plastic and metal square heads
Are everywhere… scrambling
the brains of my students
teaching them to be compliant
malleable
common
ordinary
all the same
as
each
other

But my kids the outliers on the scattergrams –
my rebels
my questioners
my thinkers
my doers

View original post 307 more words

Author: Zorba

Greek-American who loves to cook and talk about politics

2 thoughts on “A Poem in Favor of Humanity”

Leave a Reply

